Fortbet Younga crowned champions of Tanzania after four years - The Anchorman
May 23, 2024

The Anchorman

Your Undisputed Source

Younga crowned champions of Tanzania after four years


Young Africans Sports Club are the 2021/2022 Tanzania NBC Premier League champions.

Coach Nasreddine Nabi’s side were declared champions on Wednesday night after picking a convincing 3-0 win against Coastal Union of Tanga in a match played at the Benjamin Mkapa Stadium in Dar es Salaam.

In-form striker Fiston Mayele netted a brace, while Chico Ushindi also got his name on the score sheet to ensure Young Africans SC did not have to postpone the celebrations.

Young Africans SC who last won the League title in 2017 have now accumulated 67 points from 27 matches played. Nabi’s team is still unbeaten and have three more matches to complete the season.

Their rivals Simba SC are second on the log with 51 points after 25 matches.

Young Africans SC will have another chance to compete for a double when they face Coastal Union of Tanga in the Azam Federation Cup final on July 2nd in Arusha.

“This has been a tough season and we are happy finally we have won the League title. I thank the management and all the players for the hard work,” said Young Africans’ coach Nabi.

Ugandan international Khalid Aucho who joined the Tanzanian team in the beginning of the season said he was proud being part of the Young Africans team to win the League trophy.

“It is a good feeling to play a role and win the League title with a team I joined a few months ago,” added Aucho.

Young Africans SC have now automatically qualified to represent Tanzania in the 2022/2023 TotalEnergies CAF Champions League.