Fortbet Motorsport: FMU introduces new divisions ahead of season opener. - The Anchorman
July 17, 2024

The Anchorman

Your Undisputed Source

Motorsport: FMU introduces new divisions ahead of season opener.


The Federation of Motorsport Clubs of Uganda (FMU) has introduced three new divisions ahead of the season opener Lake Mburo Rukaari rally organised by the Mbarara Motorsport club.

The new divisions are the premium division, division one and division two onto of the already established Natiinal Rally Championship (NRC), the 2WD and the CRC.

The premium division will consist of crews seeded from the 1st position to the 12th position according to previous performances but giving an entry to all the former National Rally champions.

Division one will have all the crews seeded from 13th to the 25th position and division two will have all crews promoted from the CRC and drivers who have taken a period of two years out competition.

The new divisions are targeted at increasing competition among rally crews as they will be dropping from the top division to the one ranked below according to performances in the previous round.

Jeff Kabenge the deputy vice President in charge of motor rally clarified on the new divisions as he was speaking to kawowo.
“Divisions will be one way to increase competition among crews. The fact that it is no guarantee for one to be in the same class forever as it has been. So crews will have to fight to get promoted or maintain their divisions.”

“Exception was only given to national champions who are reserved for Premium regardless of their seeding at the end of the season,” said Kabenge.
The new season will kick-off with the Mbarara rally which will start on Friday 21st to the 23rd January.