Fortbet Eight teams qualify for the maiden CAF Women's champions league - The Anchorman
May 19, 2024

The Anchorman

Your Undisputed Source

Eight teams qualify for the maiden CAF Women’s champions league

Kenneth MUKISA 

CAF has confimed list of the eight clubs that have qualified for the inaugural Women’s champions league that will be hosted by Egypt in November this year.

The eight are the regional winners from CAF’s territorial divisions including West Africa (WAFU A and B) , South ( COSAFA), East and Central (CECAFA) , North (UNAF) , and UNIFFAC

AS Mande from Mali are winners of two editions for the Mali Women’s First division. They are the representatives of WAFU A.

The Zone holders of the previous AWCON (Women’s version of AFCON) 2018 were granted two slots according to regulations of the competition and thus, two teams come from WAFU B.

These are Haraacas Ladies FC of Ghana and Rivers Angel’s of Nigeria.

Haraacas Ladies of Ghana are four time winners of the Ghanain women league whereas the Rivers Angels of Nigeria are seven time winners of the Nigeria women league.

The COSAFA region will be represented by Mamelodi Sundowns of South Africa. They emerged champions of the regional qualification champions that were hosted in Durban South Africa.

VIHIGA Queend of Kenya beat Ethiopian Commmergial Banjk to win the regional qualification. championships that were held in Nairobi Kenya.

Uganda’s Lady Doves emerged 3rd in the competition.

The UNAF region will have two representatives after Egypt’s Wadi Degla warning automatic qualification courtesy of their hosting rights.

They are the champions of Egypt and gave won it 12 times.

The other representatives of UNAF are ASFAR FC of Morocco who are also eight time champions of the Magreb nation.

UNIFFAC will ha e Malabo King FC of Equatorial Guinea as their representatives after winning the regional qualification championships.

They are also holders of the Equatorial Guinea Primera Division Femenina .