Fortbet Byekwaso summons 40 for CECAFA - The Anchorman
May 25, 2024

The Anchorman

Your Undisputed Source

Byekwaso summons 40 for CECAFA

In preparation for the CECAFA  championships, U23 head coach Morley Byekwaso has released a list of 40 players.

Among these are 6 players above the age of 23 from whom 3 will make the final 23 and and these are Murushid Juuko, Yunus Sentamu, Saidi Kyeyune, Ismael Watenga, and Charles Lukwago .

The tournament is set to be hosted by Ethiopia in the town of Bahir Dar between 3-18 July 2021.

This tournament is mainly for players under the age of 23 although the rules accept to field three players above that age.

The players above 23 years Byekwaso named are South African based goalkeeper Ismail Watenga of Chippa United. Yunus Sentamu of Vipers who was dropped from the friendly against South Africa was also included. Charles Lukwago (KCCA), Murushid Juuko (Express ) and Saidi Kyeyune who has no team were named in the provisional squad.

The major purpose of these is to provide experience and guidance to the young players.

And having had the chance to excel under Byekwaso in the u20 Afcon in Mauritania, most of the Hippos players made the squad.

The selected players will meet on Friday June 18th 2021 at Fufa house in Mengo. It is from here that they will then proceed to Cranes Paradise Hotel in Kisaasi for camp.

Full Squad and Officials

Goalkeepers: Watenga Ismail (Chippa United FC), Lukwago Charles (KCCA FC), Otim Dennis (Express FC), Keni Saidi (SC Villa), Kibowa Eric (UPDF FC), Matovu Hassan Muyomba (KCCA FC)

Defenders: Kizito Mugweri Gavin (SC Villa), Begisa James Penz (UPDF FC), Walusimbi Enock (Express FC), Kayondo Abdu Aziizi (Vipers SC), Ndahiro Derrick (SC Villa), Kaddu George (Wakiso Giants FC), Juuko Murushid (Express FC), Musa Ramathan (KCCA FC), Ssemakula Kenneth (BUL FC), Magambo Peter (KCCA FC), Mukundane Hillary (Mbarara City FC)

Midfielders: Byaruhanga Bobosi (Vipers SC), Kiggundu Derrick (Soltilo Bright Stars FC), Watambala Abdul Karim (Vipers SC), Kyeyune Saidi (Unattached), Sserwadda Steven (KCCA FC), Ssenyonjo Hassan ( Wakiso Giants FC), Anukani Bright (KCCA FC), Mugulusi Isam (Busoga United FC), Kabonge Nicholas ( SC Villa), Salim Abdallah (SC Villa).

Forwards: Bogere Ivan (Wakiso Giants FC), Masereka Saddam (SC Villa), Poloto Julius (KCCA FC), Basangwa Richard (Vipers SC), Yiga Nagib (Vipers SC), Kiwanuka Hakim (Proline FC), Ssentamu Yunus (Vipers SC), Kakooza Derrick (Police FC), Ssenyonjo Samuel (KCCA FC), Anaku Sadat (KCCA FC), Ssebufu Frank (Wakiso Giants FC), Kambale Eric Kenzo (Express FC) and Lwanga Charles (KCCA FC).


Byekwaso Morley- Head Coach

Massa Simeon-Assistant Coach

Kiggundu Stephen Billy-Goalkeeping Coach

Mutyaba Bashir Team Manager

Ssewanyana Ivan-Team Doctor

Bwanika Lawrence- Media Officer

Mulondo Samuel-Kits Manager

It’s from this squad that the final 23 man squad will be named that will fly out to Ethiopia.